Contact Info

Mailing Address:
PO Box 55071 #13825
Boston, MA 02205-5071

Email Address:

(815) 301-6733

Official Group Page 


2017 Winners Announced: Norma Hylton and Adesola Sanusi

Please join the Selection Committee and Board of the Harvard Stephens & Deshaun Hill Memorial Scholarship in congratulating Norma Hylton '18 of Leverett House and Adesola Sanusi '18 of Cabot House on being named 2017 Hill-Stephens Scholars.

Norma is a Neurobiology concentrator from Lincoln, MA. As a John Harvard Scholar she has shown exemplary dedication inside of the classroom, leading one of her recommenders to describe her as "the single most impressive student" with whom they have ever worked. Her activities outside of academia are equally impressive, and have included service initiatives in Panama and Chile as well as the co-presidency of the Harvard Pops Orchestra, where she works with her fellow artists to bring music and laughter to the Cambridge community. After Harvard, Norma hopes to become a physician at a teaching hospital, shaping the path of those who follow her while seeking to uncover the keys to cures for neurobiological diseases.

Adesola calls New York, NY home and concentrates in Computer Science. Active in the leadership of the Harvard African Students Association, Harvard Black Students Association, and Harvard Women in Computer Science, she has forged a strong connection to the life of the College. As a Girls Who Code and Black Girls Code mentor, she has also shown a drive to spark the intellectual lives of the next generation of women in technology. Despite the fact that she lost both of her parents before even graduating college—her father passed when she was a rising high school junior and her mother was lost in a car crash just this past August—Adesola is the textbook illustration of grit and talent in coaction. This summer, she will once again intern at Google, adding yet another accomplishment on her journey in a promising technology career.

These two young women truly represent all that is great about Black Harvard. We wish them every measure of success in the years to come.


The 2016 Hill-Stephens Scholars are Jordan Alston-Harmon '17 of Adams House and Diondra Peck '17 of Winthrop House.

Jordan came to Harvard as a transfer student last year—an already impressive feat considering the less than 1% transfer acceptance rate—and hit the ground running. In his second semester at the College, the soon-to-be Government concentrator became the co-chair of the Politics of Race and Ethnicity group at the Institute of Politics (IOP), attracting students of color to participate in the IOP in numbers unseen elsewhere within that organization. This year, he also rose to the captainship of the Mock Trial "A Team" after enjoying victory as part of Harvard's first National Championship team last school year.

As a biomedical engineering concentrator, Diondra is a dedicated scientist with an expansive intellectual appetite. She has worked as a research assistant in local labs, developing computational tools and mathematical models to assist in the study of microbial systems and also contributing to efforts advancing the state of non-invasive surgical procedures. In doing so, she uncovered a passion for computer science that has led her down a challenging, yet stimulating path which she hopes will culminate in an MD/PhD. Despite juggling two term-time jobs, she still finds the time to mentor Boston youth via Science Club for Girls and to lead the Harvard Society of Black Scientists and Engineers.

We are thrilled to welcome these two bright, ambitious students into the family of Hill-Stephens Scholars. Please help us celebrate their accomplishments.


The 2015 Deshaun Hill & Harvard Stephens Memorial Scholarship winners are Mather House's Omolade "Lade" Sogade '16 and Dunster House's Jumai Yusuf '15.

Lade is committed to eradicating healthcare disparities the world over. Before she even arrived at Harvard she'd done work that meaningfully impacted health outcomes for female patients and their unborn children in a community clinic in Johannesburg. Since matriculating, the Human Developmental and Regenerative Biology concentrator has volunteered as a medical and public health volunteer in a rural town in Honduras, and she's currently executing research for a Cambridge based health initiative aimed at improving the effectiveness of healthcare interventions for minority women.

Jumai is a Neurobiology concentrator whose love for theater has made a substantial impact on the Harvard campus. Her adaptation of the socially conscious play "Negative," in the wake of the "I, Too, Am Harvard" campus movement, helped to push the conversation about race forward, uncovering uncomfortable truths and contextualizing them for the audience. She also founded ST@HC—Science Theater at Harvard College—a theater group focused on highlighting the fascinating stories of the people behind the groundbreaking research.

Please join the entire Board in congratulating these fine scholars and members of the Harvard community.

2014 Winners Announced: Fatima Mubarak and Keyanna Wigglesworth

The 2014 Deshaun Hill & Harvard Stephens Memorial Scholarship winners are Adams House's Fatima Mubarak '15, and Cabot House's Keyanna Wigglesworth '16.

Fatima is a Harvard College Scholar who has excelled in her chosen concentration of Chemistry, balancing work as a research assistant in Theodore Betley's laboratory with her role as a teaching fellow for organic chemistry at the Harvard Extension School. She is also heavily engaged in promoting intercultural understanding through her work with the Harvard Islamic Society.

Keyanna is a Social Studies concentrator who is deeply interested in fostering conversations about identity and diversity. As a freshman, she took on the burden of saving a progressive student publication, Perspective Magazine, by assuming the roles of President and Editor during a leadership crisis, thereby keeping it alive. Recently, she's been working as a campus organizer to promote awareness of UPASS, a Boston initiative that would effectively include the cost of public transportation in local college and university tuition.

The guidance of Harvard's house administrators was essential to helping us discover these remarkable students, and the continued support of Deshaun and Harvard's family and friends, and of course the extended Harvard community, is instrumental in helping us to honor their hard work. Once again, thanks to all of you.


2013 Winners Announced: Alexander Moore and Joshua Scott

The selection committee and board of the Deshaun Hill & Harvard Stephens Memorial Scholarship have chosen Adams House's Alexander Moore '15 and Dunster House's Joshua Scott '15 as this year's Hill-Stephens Scholars. Please join us in congratulating these inspiring young men.

Alex is a Detur Book Prize winner and Applied Mathematics concentrator who takes the focus on application in his course of study seriously, whether using concepts encountered in coursework to nurture a love for scientific inquiry in youngsters or aiding his classmates as a course assistant in one of Harvard's most demanding computer science courses. As a budding environmental engineer devoted to unlocking the potential of sustainable energy, Joshua is committed to making a difference in his hometown of Hampton, VA and beyond after his eventual commission as a Second Lieutenant in the United States Marine Corps is complete.

It should come as no surprise that this year's candidate field was highly competitive. It was extremely difficult for us to reach a decision: we wouldn't have it any other way.